Good greek, or great?

On Friday night we were meeting friends for drinks on the Danforth so decided to check out some Greek food.  Since it was a bit of a last minute decision I did some quick searching online to find a recommendation.  One of the places that showed up on several lists was Avli.  Since we’d never tried it we decided to check it out.

I’ll start by saying that I’ve never been a huge fan of greek food, I love the appetizers but they lose me after that.  Since Avli is famous for their dips – at least according to the sign outside – we started with a trio of eggplant, roasted red pepper & goat cheese and hummus.  And because we can never resist melty cheese, an order of saganaki.  Everything was delicious.  The dips were fresh and flavourful – and the pita served with them was perfectly crispy and soft at the same time.  I also doubt I need to say that the hot, melty, salty cheese that is saganaki was fantastic… although I’m not sure it’s possible to make that wrong.

For mains I had the greek salad and my husband ordered chicken in a pita.  We both agreed that the ingredients were fresh and flavourful, and very good.  Amazing?  I don’t know.  I will say that the service was great, the staff were very friendly and I get the feeling this places gets a lot of regulars.

I don’t know if it’s possible for me to find truly amazing greek food in the city that will make me fall in love with this cuisine.  I guess I might have to check out a few other places to compare and see.  Please let me know if you have a favourite place that you think might do it.

Avli Restaurant, 401 Danforth Avenue, 416-461-9577

Food 3/5     Service 3/5     Value 4/5     Overall Rating 3/5

3 thoughts on “Good greek, or great?

Leave a comment